Key people

The Nuclear AMRC is owned by the University of Sheffield, but overseen by our industrial partner companies on a consortium basis. Operations are headed by the executive team of officers and directors. Strategy and research areas are determined with the guidance of the board of member companies.


Andrew Storer, Chief Executive Officer
Andrew Storer is responsible for leadership and strategy of the Nuclear AMRC. He joined in 2015 from Rolls-Royce’s civil nuclear business, and was appointed CEO from August 2017. He is also Visiting Professor of Nuclear Manufacturing and Capability Development at the University of Sheffield.

Professor Steve Jones, Chief Technology Officer
Steve Jones is responsible for the Nuclear AMRC’s technology strategy to ensure the centre delivers innovative and valuable technical solutions to the UK supply chain. He joined in 2017 from Coventry University’s Advanced Manufacturing and Engineering Institute.

Sean Eley, Commercial Director
Sean Eley is responsible for ensuring that the Nuclear AMRC is commercially viable, attracts world-class companies, and helps UK manufacturers become more competitive. He joined in 2019 after 30 years in business development for a range of manufacturing sectors.

Professor Richard Hall, Regional Director
Richard Hall is responsible for regional strategies and engagement, working with local universities, regional government and industry to ensure the centre is delivering impact in key nuclear regions for the nuclear sector. He joined the Nuclear AMRC in 2018 from the University of Derby.

Dr Emma Kelly, Programme Director
Emma Kelly is responsible for the development of Nuclear AMRC Midlands in Derby, and the modularisation facility in Birkenhead. She joined the centre in 2018, after senior roles at the Energy Research Accelerator and Institute for Advanced Manufacturing in Nottingham.

Jay Shaw, Programme Director
Jay Shaw joined the Nuclear AMRC’s machining group in 2010, leading the group before moving to business development and then to programmes. He is responsible for ensuring that the centre’s projects deliver the maximum value to the UK supply chain.

Jamie Nemeth, Business Manager
Jamie provides strategic and operational support, focusing on strategy, performance management, resourcing and governance across the centre. He joined in 2018, and has over 20 years of business and financial management experience gained across multiple industry sectors.


Programme board

Mick Gornall, Westinghouse (chair)
Jonathan Brown
, Cammell Laird
Gina Strati, Canadian Nuclear Laboratories
Paul Smith, Cavendish Nuclear
Marc Duret
, Framatome UK
Tim Gears
, Hexagon Manufacturing Intelligence
Simon Plumtree, ITW Welding Group
Ron Gorham, NDA
Tom Greatrex, NIA
Alan Woods, Rolls-Royce
Kevin Burns
, Sellafield Ltd
David Bond, Sheffield Forgemasters
John Coughlan, TSP Engineering
Nick Gaines, Ultra Electronics
Lindsay Roche, Westinghouse UK
Martin Burnham, IFA (Tier Two representative)

Dr Neil Irvine, Dalton Nuclear Institute
Bob Bish
Chris Squires, EDF Energy
Davies, Hitachi-GE
George Pritchard, Horizon Nuclear Power
Kristy Hewitson, NNL
Sarah Beacock, Nuclear Institute
Duncan Steel, Sellafield Ltd